Homemade nutella using only 3 ingredients!

Happiness in a jar! I’ve never met a person who doesn’t like Nutella. There is, indeed, something magical about chocolate and hazelnuts mixed together into a creamy delight. I’ve tried tons of recipes for homemade Nutella, but I always seem to go back to these three.

Now, I never considered myself an indecisive person, but I can’t for the life of me choose which one of these recipes I like the most. All three recipes are vegan and free of refined sugar, and most importantly require only 3 ingredients.

Ingredients:

Nutella With Maple Syrup:

1 cup hazelnuts

1½ tbsp cacao/cocoa powder

¼ cup maple syrup (agave or coconut nectar also work)

water (I usually use about ¼ cup)

Nutella With Dates:

1 cup hazelnuts

1½ tbsp cacao/cocoa powder

12 dates

water (I usually use ⅔-1cup)

Nutella With Coconut Sugar:

1 cup hazelnuts

1½ tbsp cacao/cocoa powder

¼ cup + 2 tbsp of coconut sugar

½ tsp vanilla (optional)

pinch of salt (optional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 360F/180C.

Place hazelnuts in a baking dish in single layer and roast for 15 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes.

Remove hazelnuts from the oven and let cool for 10-15 minutes.

Place hazelnuts in food processor and blend for 10 minutes until they turn into hazelnut butter. I usually stop my food processor every minute or so to give it a break and scrape the sides.

*IF USING DATES* Soak dates in hot water for 5-15 minutes depending on how soft they are.

Add cacao powder and the sweetener (maple syrup/soaked dates/coconut sugar) to the food processor. Blend for about a minute.

While the food processor is still running, gradually add water to reach the desire consistency. Blend for 2 minutes or so until the mixture is smooth.

*IMPORTANT* The amount of water you need will depend on what sweetener you’re using. I usually add ¼ cup of water when I make Nutella with maple syrup, ⅔-1 cup if I’m using dates, and NO WATER if I’m using coconut sugar.

 

Published by

Active Vegan

Terminate all humiliation of animals. Go vegan: https://www.facebook.com/ActiveVegan

Your comment is valued. Thank you.

